Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
NEW to fibro
becca40 posted:
My name is Becky and after 4 years of increasing pain after a back injury I was finally diagnosed with fibro. What a good feeling of relief and of loss at the same time! I ahve had several friends alienate me during this time. Because i do not look "sick". As a nurse i definetly understand how my patients with this felt. I would love to work as a nurse again but, it is not possible at this point. Trying to fight with disability at the same time. So many complex things involved with a diagnosis. I at least have a good Md now. Just need those venting moments and go on from there.

dollbug responded:
Hello Becky and welcome....MiMi in NC...it is a tough road to travel....but the good thing is that the more you learn about the wrath of the dragon, aka FM...the better you will cope...it does take a trial and error process which does take time and effort...what works for one may or may not help you...you have to decide if something works.

Most of us FMers do not look sick and I think this is one reason that so many people do not nor can not understand just how much we have to deal with every day. I have actually figured out how to *control my FM pain by taking vitamins and supplements and doing other things as well....it is the chronic fatigue that I have not conquered yet....my doctor has told me that there is nothing that will help this either....but I refuse to accept this....I continue to try to figure this out as well.

I hope you will check out the info under *tips* and *resources* here which will offer you some good *tools* that might work for you. This is a good group of FMers here who share and care what they have experienced and know about FM.