Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I may have Fibromyalgia?
Denimblu posted:
So I'm new to this and have been told that it sounds like a my have Fibromyalgia. I don't know but it sounds like I may. I am in more pain on days that I am more active and sometimes have muscle control loss. I also have sharp pains, feel like what electrical sparks look like, the burn and pattern that it happens in. when my muscles get weak it feels like I am trapped in my own body and almost powerless. Last night was the worst night, I found a hot shower and a pain killer helped....and prayers of course, but maybe someone knows whats may be going on???

Cormacbolano responded:
Some of your symptoms sound like fibro but others may not be.
These symptoms could be something else and you should have it looked into.

The best thing to do is to write a list of your symptoms and take them to your primary doctor which I hope you have.

Good luck and sorry to hear about this

BetteK responded:
Denimblu,

One of my FM pals also has neuropathy. Your "shocking" pains sound like that. Your primary care doc should be able to pick up on that.

If this is what your problem is, you will probably be referred to a neurologist. Many neurologists also treat fibromyalgia, so you could get a 2fer.

Whatever, you do need to have this checked out. Make the appointment first thing.

BetteK

Denimblu replied to BetteK's response:
I know I should as soon as I can... being a single mother of two, and having not the best insurance it is difficult for me to get in! I'm only 33 and I don't feel that I should have these problems. Not to mention I am a little conserned about the results. Was hoping I could put a finger on it my self so I could research what I need to do, to feel a little better. Thank you for your reply, I will...soon go in! keep me in your prayers.

Denimblu replied to Cormacbolano's response: