Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Horrible reaction to meds
mvazquez1118 posted:
Hi everyone, I am fairly new to this being as how I was just diagnosed with Fibromyalgia a few months ago but I wanted to share how I'm doing. Last night I thought I was going to die. I've been trying out a number of different medications to help with the pain but I am very sensitive and haven't been able to tolerate them. Well yesterday was one of those horrible days. After days of cutting up the 12.5mg of Savella and taking bits and pieces I decided to take the whole pill. My doctor wanted me to slowly up the dose and since I was feeling fine after taking the pieces and even half, I decided to go ahead and take the whole pill; horrible idea. I literally thought I was going to die. I was very dizzy, nauseas, sweating, my heart felt like it wanted to pump out of my chest and I had a splitting head ache. I laid down and don't even know what happened after that. I could not tolerate the light so I went under my covers and waited it out. I don't know if I fell asleep or what but I woke up hours later feeling a little better. I still have a residual headache today but I am glad that it paced. I had a similar experience to Gabapentin but not as bad.
This morning I woke up and told my parents and they were very upset that I didn't tell them in the moment. I was just so out of it that I didn't even had the energy to get up or call for them. I am very glad I made it through the night and nothing serious happened. I have of course stopped the medication and will not be taking them ever again. I did talk to my doctor about this as well.
Right now I am taking 50mg of Tramadol once a day. Hopefully I'll be able to up that dose because it seems to help a little bit.
Has anyone had a similar experience and how has your journey gone with all the different meds?
Any tips on how to handle this pain with no meds and diet restrictions due to allergies?

xperky responded: