Skip to content
side effects of cymbalta or stomach bug?
kalen76 posted:
Hi everyone, I posted a couple of weeks ago asking for advice as I am new to this whole fibro thing, and you all have been so wonderful!! Well i was on 30mg of cymbalta for 2 weeks. I did ok with it and on Wed they upped it to 60mg. I was a little nauseous Wed and Thurs but nothing terrible. Last night I woke around 3 am with horrible pain in my stomach and cramps (almost like menstrual ones). I began having diarehea and dry heaving. I also was sweating a lot. I have had stomach bugs before and the symptoms seem very much like what I have experienced other times (except for the sweating). Today I have been nausous, have stomach cramps, and still have diarehea. I only took one 30mg cymbalta today because i was afraid to not take any, but didn't think I should take the 60 either. So, basically, I am stuck as to whether this is likely from the med or not. No one in my house is sick except for me, Any thoughts? Anyone experience anything similar?

fibroinsd responded:
I was on Cymbalta and never had any problem with it at all..no sickness...it worked for me..BUT...I have heard stories of others that have had real problems with it..I would definitely call your doctor right away, and ask about this...I am glad you went back to the 30..they say stopping is not good..you need to work your way off of it..so call the doc...and stay with the 30 until you know otherwise...or if you are having real problems..maybe go to urgent care? Do be careful...Cece
Let's put the fun back in dysfunctional !- Mary Englebright

debrabrooks1960 responded:
Hello,