Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
fm
hannaloren posted:
ies there any one there who can give me some advice on FM

i am new to all those aches and pains but im trying to get use to them
i used to do a lot of sports and also later on running and biking but now it feels like everything has changed but i'm trying to live with it i was asked by the dr. if i could try 5 weeks on prednisone but i declined i,m petrified of steroids
has anybody else had this treatment love to hear from you thanks hannaloren

bette_kaffitz responded:
Hanna,

Fibromyalgia is still considered a syndrome (a collection of symptoms) instead of a disease. You have multiple aches and pains above and below the waist and on both the right and left side of your body. If this has been going on for 3 months or more, they call it fibromyalgia.

Actually, there are are many other things that are going on. You have a difference in the way your nerve fibers react to stimuli. Things that would not be experienced as pain by others are by you. Pain signals are being amplified in the spinal cord. Other signals that should be dampening your pain are not doing their job. There are many pain-related chemicals in your brain that are overabundant. Again, the chemicals that are supposed to lessen pain are in short supply.

At the same time you are getting less sleep and poorer sleep than you previously enjoyed. You are dead tired. You get up each morning as tired as when you went to bed.

Many of us get other symptoms too. We get migranes, an irritable bowel, numbness and tingling, and, of course, fibrofog. Fibrofog is what we call that spacey feeling of not being able to concentrate, forgetting all kinds of important things, and just not being completely focused on the here and now. (I think this fog comes from no sleep and all that pain being all you CAN think about.)