Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Bad Stomach Pains
An_248463 posted:
Stomach seems to go non-stop. Feeling tightness and knots. It's really bad when I'm upset. Sometimes it really burns. Is theis something else associated with fibro?

This didn't just start, but it is starting worry me lately because of how bad it's been. Saying dumb things all the time. Not remembering a darned thing. Being called a liar just doesn't help either.

Is there something that I can do?

Anon_10089 responded:
Hello-

Many people with FM also have IBS, which to me is like the FM of the digestive tract because there is no clear solution and it's different for everyone.

Of course, if you can, you should rule other things out with your doctor. We can tend to blame everything on the FM and miss out on other things that could have a solution.

You could also keep a food diary and identify triggers. Common culprits are dairy, wheat, artificial sweeteners/foods.

I'm not an expert, but it sounds like at least some of your stomach troubles may be caused or worsened by anxiety. It sounds like you're in a bad cycle of worrying about your stomach, which makes you tighten it up, which causes it to worsen, which makes you worry more. And you allude to outside pressure from a person. That sounds like something you can't control.

Of course, there is no quick fix or magic bullet. Perhaps if you can take a few minutes or even a half hour for yourself and walk that can help. Don't worry about it being "exercise". Just walk, look at trees, look at the sky. Walking can help digestion, release endorphines, and ease tension.

I'm not sure if you're on meds. At low points in my life, a good antidepressant has sure helped me. They can't change anything about our lives other than giving us a little more control in coping with our issues. Plus, some of them also relieve pain.