Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
New to the community
annamarrs posted:
Hi all! my name is Anna and I am in the processes of doing the "rule out" tests for FM. I am becoming so incredibly frustrated with the whole process. Every time I have a flare up I think to myself, when will they diagnose me already!! Why isn't is so plainly obvious?!?! But then I have a good day where I feel OK and I think, maybe it is all in my head. It is frustrating to see the answer to why every thing is happening, my full body pain, joint pain, stomach issues, pseudo bladder infections, fatigue, lack of focus, mood changes. Then if I tell anyone what is going on its like the look I get is, so you have a medical term for lazy? Although as we all know its very hard to do anything when you feel like every thing hurts.

I work as a Dietary Director for a SNF. Which means that once a week I am responsible for putting away a $2500 order of frozen, cold, and dry foods ranging from 50# of carrots to 50# of rice and boxes of #10 cans. When you hands, wrists, and fingers are hurting so bad that you can barely focus on anything, it is pretty hard to life even the smallest box.

I also recently discovered that the "genetic joint issue" my surgeons at Stanford University told me I had and did surgery on both wrists for is actually called Benign Joint Mobility Syndrome. Its even better when your told you have something and not given a name of it...had I know this I would have researched it and not thought that I was just a freak of nature, but found out that multiple people have it and end up with....wait for it....FM!! YAY....

Anyway, I guess what I need is to know I'm not alone...I am not crazy! That when I wake up in the middle of the night with my hands throbbing or my hips throbbing its real. When I get random shooting pains through my knees, thighs, and sides, its actually because its happening.