Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
24 Hour Duty
analizfibro posted:
I am a Soldier in the army. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia about 5 months ago and then I was sent to Korea where I am currently at now. I never had to do duty for 24 hours until now. I have have 4 bad flare ups since I got here 3 months ago and I am wondering if been deprived from sleep can worsen my symptoms. Can any one help?

slb1955 responded:
sleep deprivation will def. worsen your symptoms. I have had fibro for several years and have had so many flare up. Prayers for you.

revrickh responded:
Is the diagnosis in your medical records? If so, I would suggest you see the medical officer for your unit - not the medic - the doctor! If you are having flares while on duty, I would suggest you are compromising yourself, and your duty. (I was in the Navy four decades ago in a security sensitive rating.) I know not what your particular situation is, but if you are experiencing fibro flares, or fibro fog, you need to let others know! You do not need to put yourself in the position of needing to make decisions relating to your command while dealing with flares, and in any service, in almost any position, such decisions of urgent, or perhaps, serious import (depending on your posting, perhaps even of national security importance) are possible at any time.

fibroinsd responded:
Welcome analizfibro...so sorry you are dealing with this...and thank you for your service...

Lack of sleep can have a bad affect on a lot of things..but there are other things that might be giving you problems too..is it cold there? My fibro friends that live in cold areas swear the cold has a terrible effect on them. However, there are some things you can do...