Skip to content
Suggestions? Positive support?
kcbisquick posted:
Hello Folks. I'm a 30yo female nurse with FMS. I'm in need of some advice, not sure if there is really anything I haven't tried so maybe I'm just in need of positive reinforcement to get me over the hump.

Nursing is my second degree. Yes, after already knowing I had FMS I decided to go back to school to start a highly physical career. Some may think of this as dumb but nursing is where I belong.

Before nursing I focused on getting myself into a routine. I ate 6 small meals a day every three hours, got my 8 hrs of sleep and did low impact workouts three to four times a week. My fibro was managed well (flare ups usually due to weather, illness, or lack of sleep when pushing myself). I was satisfied.

After graduation I knew that finding a job in which I would be sitting most of the time would be best, however I'm the type of person who would always wonder if I could do the running around if I didn't try. Hence, I tried. Truth of the matter is, I'm struggling. I work four ten hour shifts a week, standing for the majority of that time. I also am running, lifting, sweating etc. My manager does not care to make modifications for me, in fact she laughs when I mention I am struggling because all she sees is a 30yo in front of her (the youngest employee in the building). Obviously I am looking for a new job but times are tough and it's been about six months with no luck.