Skip to content
Fibro Issues
ninalee14 posted:
This is just going to seem like one big complaint but, ugh, I need to get this out there.

I have recently been diagnosed with Fibro and I'm pretty sure I've been fighting it (unknowingly) for 2-3 years. I'm currently taking Gabapentin for it and I am slowly increasing the dose (via doctor instructions) to see if it gets any better. The first day I took it, it was shortly before bed and I woke up feeling AMAZING. I almost cried. Well, that was a few months ago and I haven't felt it since....even with the increased dose. Lyrica is out of the picture cause it'd be $100 a month. Might be switching to Cymbalta in the future.

As of right now though, I am so stiff, I have a hard time sleeping and when I do get to sleep, I wake up numerous times during the night cause I'm just so damn uncomfortable! Stiff, achy, weak muscles, exhausted and I need to find relief fast or I'm going to go CRAZY!

What can I do!? I had my first appointment for acupuncture today (recommended by my doc) and I've always wanted to try it, but it'll be $55 a week, cant afford that. Massage might be out of the question too cause its also costly.

Any ideas?? It'd be greatly appreciated if you share!

missist responded:
Hi I use gabapentin. I have been using a higher dose at bedtime than in the morning. I'm not so stiff as I used to be in the morning. Now I also take celebrex--so that could be part of it. Its not for fibro but for arthrits. Sometimes we have more than one thing.

Gabapentin can probably use some help. Have you had Vitamin D checked yet? cuz that also helps some.

an antidepressant before bed too can help you sleep better and feel better.

maybe too take a look at the bed. Is it comfortable? you might want to add a foam pad to it-- the kind with the diamonds or points on the top is great. When I worked in nursing home we used to call them 'egg crate mattress' you just put it on top of the mattress, under the sheets.