Skip to content
Fibro and work
scotianova posted:
Hi there!

I'm newly diagnosed with fibromyalgia and CFS (after years of testing and, of course, not being taken seriously as a 24 year old woman). I have a couple of different questions but I'll post separately.

I am a Registered Nurse and work in a hospital setting. I graduated jsut a year ago and was put on sick leave after one month of work due to pain and exhaustion (plus the fun array of other symptoms like daily nausea and dizziness). I had always been unwell but during my schooling we didn't work in the hospital often, let alone 12 hour shifts, so when I actually started I realized the impact.

Luckily for me, my manager is a saint and asked me to come back after several months on leave to work as her sort of "assistant". In my organization we have a thing called "duty to accommodate" where as long as certain conditions are met medically, employees are supposed to be kept in their jobs on a modified basis. this was nine months ago now and I've since been doing a lot of quality and research projects for her, spicing up the unit, etc. Mostly all desk work which has helped a great deal. Again I can't express enough how lucky I am, especially being a nurse.

I'm a very dedicated hard worker, I wanted to get back from the first day I was off, I hate missing time and I work my butt off in the ways I can. I'm still looking for other work and my employer is trying to place me too. I even applied to grad school and will be starting my public health masters this fall! (ee!) HOWEVER as I'm sure you all can understand, even with working a desk job the days can creep up that are full of immobilizing pain and fatigue.