Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Extreme Sweating and Anemia
Extremespin posted:
sweat up a litter in 60 minutes from spinning. I spin twice a week.

As a blood donor, every two months I get tested for hemoglobin. It drops below 11 every once in a while and when i take iron tables, that bring the hemoglobin back to normal. My physician does not understand why because after GI exam there was no evidence of internal bleeding.

Could I losing more iron through sweating during the spinning than normal? An why do I feel so lethargic after spin even if my fitness is so high?

confused

Rich Weil, MEd, CDE responded:
It can take 3-4 weeks after donating blood to replenish all red blood cells and hemoglobin. But I am not an expert on blood levels or anemia and cannot answer your questions specifically. You can check the men's/womens health communities here at WebMD http://men.webmd.com/default.htm
http://blogs.webmd.com/womens-health/