Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
exercise
aci12 posted:
Hi, my name is Alberta. I have been trying to increase my level of activity to lose weight more efficiently, in addition to dieting. My problem is that I have had three back surgeries and am now in need of a shoulder replacement for my left arm. Obviously, I don't want to cause myself any more injury. What kind of exercises can I do that will help to strengthen me and improve my balance. In the last year I have had two bad falls -- in the last one I broke my foot. I am a senior
citizen, although I am still active in the teaching profession, and am 65.

strykerfit responded:
Hi, my name is Kelly. I have a Bachelors degree in Exercise Science and at the present attending Grad school in Physical Education, specializing in Exercise Science. Alberta, with your situation, you need to be careful not to injure yourself more. Depending where you live, you could attend a Silver Sneakers group exercise class. I am Silver Sneakers certified. Its for individuals that are in your situation and for seniors. It is a great way to strengthen your body and increase your balance. You need have someone with you while doing the exercises to make sure your doing it correctly. The YMCA's have Silver Sneakers and if in the southern States, it is all over the place. If you cannot attend this group, the most important exercises you can be doing right now would be the cardiorespiratory endurance such as walking. You could walk the malls where people are around to help if needed that way the weather would not interfer with your routine. I highly suggest getting involved in a group exercise program for seniors, they are trained to help improve your strength and balance.

Rich Weil, MEd, CDE responded:
Hi Alberta,