Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Abdominal Fat Despite Normal Weight
CiCiCollins posted:
Hi-

So I am 128 lbs, 5" 4" and 23. I walk 3-5 times a week for 30 minutes. I have been working out and dieting for several years now. A couple years ago I was working out 3 times a week doing 1 hour of cardio and an hour of strength training and eating 1200 calories per day. At my lowest weight I was 117 lbs, and I STILL had a belly on me, although my limbs were very slender. I have never had a nice flat stomach, even as an adolescent. I was hoping that you could create a work out for me that would help reduce my abdominal fat, tone my thighs and build up my butt which is kinda flat. I have tried so many things and I just don't know what to do, and I always feel lost when creating my own workouts and I feel as though they aren't very effective. Thanks!

Rich Weil, MEd, CDE responded:
Hi CiCi,

As you probably know, or by now have realized, you cannot spot reduce. It would be nice if you could get on the Elliptical and say, "Okay, today, burn fat from my abs!" But of course it doesn't work that way. The good news is that you can tighten muscles with resistance exercise, and even though cardio doesn't burn fat where you want it from (although it eventually will on its own), it does help, and so does interval training.

Here are my suggestions:

Here are some excellent ab exercises. Make sure to stretch your low back before and after doing them.

1. Bicycle Maneuver: Lie flat on the floor with your lower back pressed to the ground. Put your hands beside your head. Bring knees up to about 45-degree angle and slowly go through a bicycle pedal motion. Touch your left elbow to your right knee, then your right elbow to your left knee. Keep even, relaxed breathing throughout.