Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Baked Egg & Milk Challenge
SeattleAlkiMama posted:
Hello-

I'm new to this blog and hope to learn some helpful tips on how to manage my son's food allergies. I've read some posts and it's been very informative.

Nate is two and has the following allergies; dairy, eggs, wheat, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, barley, corn, kiwi, etc. He has an EpiPen that we haven't had to use (thank God) but we've given him Benadryl for non-anaphylaxis reactions to certain foods.

He had the skin testing done at a year old and again about six months ago. We have not done the RAST blood test yet. His milk and egg were the following; egg white 3/20 and cow milk 5/20. I'm not too familiar with the flare/wheal results. Do these numbers mean he is highly probable for an anaphylaxis reaction? I first noticed he was allergic to dairy when I tried 4oz of formula and he broke out in full body hives.

The allergist has recommended trying baked eggs/milk. Is this something any of you have successfully done at home or did you do this at the allergy center? I'm really nervous to try this even in small amounts at home, but not against it. I would love to be able to give him foods that have milk and eggs because it would open up so many more doors. Not to mention the nutrients he is missing with everything he's allergic to.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Heather

MrsWhiteCastle responded:
Hello! Welcome to the board.

That is a long list of foods to avoid. It must be difficult.

I'm sorry I can't help you. Hopefully someone else will be able to give their experience with the eggs and milk trial. I can only imagine how frightening that would be to give him the trial at home. I'd be a mess with worry!

BTW, your profile pic is absolutely adorable! What a cutie!
Emily (6 - allergic to tree nuts) Elizabeth (4)

seeit2 responded: