Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Includes Expert Content
possible food poisoning
elena121959 posted:
I need input from any of the experts. I suddenly became sick Wednesday afternoon/evening which included the following symptoms: nausea, vomitting, bloated/swollen abdominal area, & intermittent pain on left side & abdomen.
i immediately thought of food poisoning because Tuesday I went to TGIFriday's w/ a friend & had a chicken sandwich; also because I made myself a steak sandwich the next day (the steaks were half-cooked previously). Could either of these items have caused my symptoms? I went to the webmd symptom finder, but there were numerous possibilities.

fenton04 responded:
Wow I am not an expert but our family came down with the same symptons. I suspect it was the fruit salad I prepared because that was the only thing we all ate at dinner. Wierd huh????

elena121959 replied to fenton04's response:
Yes, it is weird; but I found out about one day later that was more like the flu-sweating, headaches,etc.
Hope your family is OK.

Elaine Magee, MPH, RD responded:
Hi Elena! Sounds like you think it was actually the flu?

Just in case, here are some symptoms and timing associated with various food poisoning bugs:

SALMONELLA--can occur in inadequately cooked foods items and improperly refrigerated foods

Symptoms
abdominal pain or cramping or tenderness, chills, diarrhea, fever, nausea, vomiting

Possible food sources
(Prevent poisoning by proper hand washing especially when handling eggs and poultry and if you own a reptile, wear gloves when handling the animal or its feces because animals can pass Salmonella to humans.)
-meats
-eggs
-milk
-cheese
-seafood
-contaminated fruits and vegetables

LISTERIA MONOCYTOGENES—this bacterium can grow slowly at refrigerator temperatures.

Symptoms
Fever, chills, headache, stiff neck, backache, and sometimes upset stomach and diarrhea. May take up to 3 weeks to become ill.

Possible food sources