Skip to content
Taking Prilosec, not sure if this will affect me any different
MidnightJim posted:
I am taking prilosec and im wondering if i should worry about taking it recently because i almost completely forgot to take it before i ate and i started to eat a little then remembered and took a pill after i had remembered for the day. Should i be concerned about that? will i get a stomach ache or any side effects as a result?

GERDpatient7 responded:
Hi MidnightJim,
I'm a pharmacist who happens to also suffer from GERD. The reason Prilosec has to be taken on an empty stomach is because it helps it to absorb. If you forget, just take it when you remember. It might be less effective after you've just eaten but it won't cause any side effects. The next day, go back to your original schedule. It helps me to keep it next to my bed so I remember to take it first thing when I wake up.

ladyredhusker replied to GERDpatient7's response: