Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Barrett's Esophagus and PPI Drug Therapy
richard1050 posted:
Who I am
I am a white 53 year old 6 ft 205 lb male..who until recently thought he was in overall good health, although slightly overweight (15-20 lbs) and certainly out of condition ( I am a programmer and sit at a desk all day long....but I do try and get out and play tennis once a week)...also a slightly high collesterol, (taking no meds though) blood pressure within the OK range, no diseases of any kind (although I just started taking Vyvance as an ADD medicine to improve concentration and improve some social networking related issues),

Recent Medical Diagnosis
I have Barrett;s Esophagus...which of course
can lead to a really nasty form of cancer, etc....so my current treatment is to do another endoscopy in 6 months,,,,and
keep taking prilosec...and according to my primary doctor...this is probably something I will need to take the rest of my
life....my doctor mentioned something about osteoperosis as a possible side effect...but then quickly dissmissed this
because as he stated which is worse .....cancer or osteoperosis..... ?

Personal Research via WEB
I wanted to see for myself what the risks were with taking Prilosec and so I decided to research this.......OMG.....osteoperosis....is just the beginning for the serious side effects that can occur to an aging person after prolonged usage of a PPI drug....so I now feel like I am trading one POSSIBLE problem (which might never happen in any case (cancer of the esophagus).....for a series of issues...one or more of which most certainly I will be afflicted with when I get 10-20 years older than I am now.