Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Loss of spouse
maxsmamma posted:
My sister just recently lost her husband to a sudden heart attack right in front of herself and children, he was in early 50's, he was also my best friend...I am doing well, but my sister is just barely getting by, any tips to help her out would be appreciated, and believe me I know there is no one answer, but I feel is is my duty to get her through this.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
I am so sorry for your loss and the suddenness of it. I'm not an expert on this, just someone who has been on this same journey and done a lot of reading here, and so these are my personal thoughts....

Loss is always difficult but when it happens unexpectedly it can send you reeling.

Along with simply grieving, your sister is probably still processing the loss and how it's going to impact her and her children. She may also just be plain scared.

So being there for her, as I'm sure you will, can help. Helping her with the basic things like sorting out their banking and wills and how the children will be cared for, etc. If you live close, you might want to be a regular presence in their home to help her with child care. The kids are going to be frightened too and the more consistency and stability they can have, while acknowledging the grieving, the better chance they'll eventually be okay.

Children - whatever their age - and the tasks involved in taking care of them can be good at this point, because you have to get out of bed every day, have to go grocery shopping, have to look out for them. Those things can pull a person forward.

Let her guide how it all goes. There's no one right way to grieve and everyone does it at their own pace. But be there to encourage and support her especially if you notice her getting unable to function.

Be gentle with yourself too. (((hugs)))

Jaime510 replied to Caprice_WebMD_Staff's response: