Skip to content
intense pain after orgasm
redskink posted:
This is my first post and I am new to this sort of group and don't know all the rules. But I need help and thought I would start out by asking my questions and I'm sure that someone will let me know if this is not the appropriate forum.

I am 54 & postmenopausal. I suffer from rhuematoid arthritis and chronic pain. I am married and have never had children....we never tried. About 4 years ago I began experiencing intense abdominal cramping after having an orgasm. Suffice it to say that the pain is not associated with sexual intercourse per se, but it is associated with my having an orgasm, with or without penetration. At first it did not happen every time, but now it does, so I have decided that the pain is not worth the pleasure of any orgasm. I've talked to my obgyn about this but am too embarassed to discuss it with my (male) primary care doc.

I should clarify that the level of pain is a "10". Cramping starts during or immediately after I have had an orgasm...with muscle contractions, etc. Then it quickly escalates to include tremendous anxiety, sweats, chills, panting, and feeling as though I need to have diarreha, but I don't. The pain is so intense that I feel as though I will have to call 911. During this time, I am usually curled up in a fetal position with a heating pad on my belly. I have not been able to determine if the pain is from the right ovary, left ovary, both ovaries, the uterus, or just where, but it is similar to "off the chart" menstrual cramps. This intense cramping continues for about an hour and gradually subsides, but the residual milder cramping continues for the next 24 hours or so. There is never any discharge.