Skip to content
Perplexed with main, peri-meno
Nicki62 posted:
Hi, am based in UK but WEBmd US is so much better and I love reading the threads. Help please I feel like I'm mad. I'm a therapist and herbalist but need help with peri-meno. I am 49 think I started about 8 years ago with emotional mood swings, tantrums and lack of concentration. Periods OK but I was never that regular, always had very little pain. Started getting occasional odd ovary pains few years back, but didn't last long, quite bad and mysterious. Last May woke up one morning at 5pm with terrible lower belly pain, (real low pubic) nowhere else - really bad, since I never had bad period pains hard for me to quantify. I'd add I am slim, very very fit and health conscious.
It was agonising and later seemed to go into period cramp. Over months that followed I got this pain more often, constipation, or bowel movement made it worse, pressure on abdo made worse. Nearly always between hours of 3pm and 7pm. Then periods started all the time, rarely a break, would be light and then 3 or 4 days heavy, some flooding. And really horrific occasional bouts of periods cramp with twinges all time, often late in day making me feel bed only option. Have had this now since I would say Last July so over a year. However now flooding gone just persistent period with little break can cope with that - and am feeling more flushed. Have had some hot flushes over past years but treated them herbally and am coping. However, I need reassurance.
Also, I think I had a UTI tested for it and have treated naturally, this seems recurrent lots of peeing and pressure feelings but hard to tell with all this period muddle up. Yes I know isn't all this confusing?
I must add that I have absolutely no back pain but have had groin pain and shooting pains down legs from time to time. Am feeling better with UTI but still have this morning pain and twinges. Some vitamin and herbal tablets seem to aggravate it.