Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Deep pain during intercourse
JustAnotherGirl83 posted:
Hello, I'm new to this particular community

I shall be up front and say I am hoping folks will tell me not to worry about so I can cancel the doctors appointment I have for Monday afternoon. Anyway...

I should think the discussion title says all that really needs to be said but at the risk of giving too much information... So far I can only come up with one time that it has happened, and that was yesterday... The best way I can describe it is a 'deep pain' in my abdomen during sex... Exclusively (I think) during full, deep penetration. It's not a sharp pain, more like an ache, I suppose... rather diffuse (I'd say at most, an area the size of my fist)...

Like I said, it has only happened once (at the risk, again, of giving you too much information it occurred last night, not this morning...) and for the most part I would much rather save myself the embarrassment and the doctor the time... on the other hand if there is a problem I would like to catch it sooner rather than later... We've pretty much decided that if it happens again I will keep the appointment (boyfriend is a first year med student... they're fun, lol )... So I guess my question is... should I keep the appointment even if it doesn't happen again this weekend?

Thanks, and sorry for the book, lol

tlkittycat1968 responded:
You said this pain happens during deep penetration. It's possible he's hitting your cervix and that can caus pain.

Jane Harrison Hohner, RN, RNP responded:
Dear JustAnotherGirl: Welcome! tlkittcat has given you correct information. Depending upon the position of your uterus/cervix AND the position of penetration (eg back entry, legs elevated, etc) the penis hitting the cervix can "jostle" the uterus and Fallopian tubes as well.

Some conditions where this may be more common include: