Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
HELP PLEASE
celinemargo posted:
so i missed my period from last month and until now i haven't got it. the last time was on the last week of december. the thing is i've been single for a year now and the last intercourse i had was back in 2011. but ever since that happened, i always got my period regularly and since then i NEVER had sex with anyone till now. i went to my doctor the other day and told him that he asked me to do some bloodwork and i work in a lab , i'm a technician so i am aware of which test he asked me to do. he would like to check my cbc my b12 , iron and my tsh and t3&t4. im still waiting for the results to come. im just being anxious on what will be the reason is. im checking for all the pregnancy symptoms are but i am sure that i haven't have those except my missed period.

BTW im working 2jobs right now which basically i work literally 7 days a week. and due to some changes of my working schedule im thinking if this could be the reason.

AM I JUST STRESS? or what?

HELP PLEASE

Jane Harrison Hohner, RN, RNP responded:
Dear celinemargo (beautiful name!!): In terms of the blood work that was ordered, the most salient for a work up for amenorrhea (missing periods) would be the TSH with the T3 and T4 for additional input. Thyroid problems, especially hypothyroid, can readily cause missed periods because low thyroid with interfere with ovulations.

As you may have read, once pregnancy has been ruled out, then the next most common cause of a missed period is not having ovulated that cycle. In a normal cycle, estrogen is produced all month. Estrogen is responsible for building up the lining of your uterus so you have something to shed each month.