Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
NuvaRing and high blood pressure
missjennifer1966 posted:
Hi. I have been using the NuvaRing for over 2 years for heavy bleeding with what I thought were great results (no more bleeding). The doctor prescribed no week free due to the heavy bleeding when I use it that way. I just saw another doctor yesterday to get it renewed and she said I should not be on the Nuva at all due to the fact that I am not young (I am 46) and I am on clonidine for high blood pressure. My questions are: Why would the doctor who prescribed it (I was diagnosed with hypertension in June of last year, but have actually had it for a long time, but just got put on clonidine in June) not tell me about it making hypertension worse and why would he renew it? Or is it that the other doctor who wants me to try Depo-Medrol injection not know what she is talking about. I am so confused! Please help. Thanks!

Jane Harrison Hohner, RN, RNP responded:
Dear missjennifer: If one looks at the guidelines about combined oral contraceptives (would apply to the NuvaRing, too) older women can use these hormones if they are non-smokers, have no history of deep vein thromboses, are not diabetic, are not obeses, and have well controlled blood pressure (including those taking medications). Here is a citation from the American Academy of Family Physicians, targeted to health care providers, which summarizes the medical contraindications to NuvaRing use (and other forms of birth control):

[a title="Link: undefined">http://www.aafp.org/afp/2010/0915/p621.htm l

If we do give hormonal birth control to a woman with an elevated blood pressure (on meds or not) we usually have her back in to recheck blood pressure when on, say birth control pills (BCPs). If BCPs seem to make blood pressure worse she is taken off. My best GUESS is that you may not have had severe hypertension, and that the Ring did not worsen your BP.