Skip to content
Can you be alergic to your own period?
suzybeee posted:
My 15 year old daughter seems to be allergic to her period. Every month before she starts, she gets a rash like appearance on her face and chest and her lips become blistered and very itchy as well as her chest. She gets a large red rash on her chest in the exact same spot every month. Her periods were very heavy and lasted several weeks so the doctor (general m.d.) put her on a low dose birth control. She had no problems for the first 6 months but then for the past 3 months just before she starts, she has these major break outs. I took her to her pediatrics doctor and she thought it was the face wash my daughter was using. That was not the cause. Could these monthly rashes be linked to her period/birth control? Please help; my daughter is miserable. We don't have insurance so a trip to the doctor is the last resort.

abbracadabra responded:
I'm not an expert in anything medical but, if I'm getting this right, is taking birth control and with that, has to stop taking it for a few days a month to allow for a period to come on. Am I correct?

If that's the case, it seems as though it's the "withdrawal" of the birth control that may be the culprit. Usually, there are "placebo" pills put into the packs of birth control so as to continue taking it daily as a "habit". It *MAY* be the placebo pills that have something in them that she could be having a reaction to.

Check with your pharmacist to see what is in the placebo pills. They may be able to switch her off of those placebos (usually fillers with gelatin, dextrose/sugar/coloring of some kind).

You could try to leave off the placebo pills and take nothing on those "off days" and see what happens. But, it may be prudent for YOU to keep track of her pills to ensure she goes back on them when she's supposed to.