Skip to content
scar tissue causes
soldierone posted:
I have an arrythmia and PVCs and underwent a cardiac catheter ablation about one year ago. The cardiologist stated the focal scarring which is (still) causing the problem could be the result of prior heart attack, rheumatic fever, exposure to radiation or toxins. I have no history or evidence of past heart attack, rheumatic fever, nor to my knowledge exposure to radiation; however as a Vietnam Veteran I was exposed to toxins (I.E. Agent Orange and other potent herbicides). The Veterans Administration has not commented one this statement and none of the literature I have read nor internet searches have mentioned exposure to "toxins" as a possible cause. Has anyone heard of this as a possible cause of focal scarring of the heart muscle? Is there any research or published data that would support this statement?

CardiostarUSA1 responded:
Hi:

"Could be the result of prior heart attack"

"I have no history or evidence of past heart attack"

Noteworthy, as applicable, a "silent MI" may/can occur.

L@@K Back in the Media

CNN Health

Silent' heart attacks more common than thought, study says - April 21, 2009

Silent heart attacks affect nearly 200,000 people in the United States annually

Although many people think of a heart attack as a painful, sometimes fatal event, there are some heart attacks that go entirely unnoticed......

http://www.cnn.com/2009/HEALTH/04/21/silent.heart.attacks/index.html

ALWAYS be proactive in your health care and treatment. Most important, communicate/interact well with your doctors.

Best of luck down the road of life.

Take care,

CardioStar*

WebMD member (since 8/99)

-

-

Be well-informed

Heart-Healthy Foods