Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
CABGX7
An_247468 posted:
In 2007 i had CABGX7 no MI. The L side was 100% block and NO heart damage. After uncomplicated surgery i was placed om Lopressor 25mg BID i did not know it caused major depression. I was unhealthy for 5.5 yrs.I weened myself off and with in 48 hours i feet 70% better. My Dr. tells me i should be on beta blocker proved to prolong life. This drug made me very sick.. What are the alternatives? the pro and cons if i don,t take any heart med.?

Help desperate.

billh99 responded:
I am not a medical professional.

Like you I had a CABG and did not have an MI or even angina. My main blockage was in the Left Main and thus just drastically limited the amount of work that the heart could do.

So I did not have heart damage either.

I was never put on a beta blocker.

Beta blockers reduce the force and rate that the heart works. So it does help protect an injured heart.

And it also reduces blood pressure.

But current research has shown that it is not the best BP reducer and that there are other classes of BP meds that are much better.

That said I know some people with heart disease that have had problems with beta blockers and have been switched to a low dose Bystolic beta blocker and have been able to tolerated it.

What are the alternatives
With or without meds the best thing to do for you heart is a healthy lifestyle.

That is losing weight, if needed. A healthy diet. And lots of exercise.

This drug made me very sick.

With doing anything (taking a med, eating, exercise, etc) there are tradeoff of risk and reward.

Ultimately it is up to you make that decision.

But try and work with your doctor.

My Dr. tells me i should be on beta blocker proved to prolong life.

Ask him to tell you specifically why he things that. What is it about your heart condition that he thinks you need it and some one like me does not.