Skip to content
conscious control of heart rate
spies88 posted:
first, a little history... I have found that i am able to consciously raise my heart rate on command. i am an emt, and have verified this with a pulse oximeter. i am able to achieve an increased heart rate without any physical exertion or change in breathing pattern, any time i so desire. the highest heart rate i have taken myself to is 180 bpm. i am certain i could have gone higher, but fear dysrhythmia if i do so. when i showed this to a paramedic co-volunteer, he told me his theory was that i had a hyper-sensitive sympathetic tone: more specifically that i could control my sympathetic nervous system.

now, my question... I was wondering if there was any known condition that could explain this ability, or if i could be referred to a cardiologist or endocrinologist who may be able to answer my question.

thank you for your time and assistance.

sincerely, mr. spies

Samuuuuel responded:
Hi, my names Sam. I have the same thing! I just realised i could do it about 20 mins ago. Its like a wierd sensation inside isnt it? I can immediately and drastically increase my heart rate at rest, without moving or panting. I also realised a few moths ago tht I could dilate my pupils without changing the light or anything.....its very similar to the heart thing in the way of doing it, you should try it. by the way, whats an 'emt'. you said your one, could i be one? ive no idea what a pulse oximeter is or anything. whats the sympathetic nervous system? any info regarding this would be fantastic, im sorry i cant be of more help to you though. Bit about me - Im Sam, im male, 18 years old and live in Birmingham, England. You have no idea how much your message has already helped me, i almost screamed when i did it for the first time, and ive never heard of this ability before. i would greatly appreciate it if you could get back to me, preferably by e-mail s.jennings1990@hotmail.co.uk thanks so much mr.spies!!!!!