Skip to content
high calcium score, normal stress test
An_257901 posted:
Hi, I'm new to this and writing about my mother who recently received a super high calcium score after a heart scan (816 total) and who has a family history of heart disease. She has passed stress tests and her cardiologist just ordered a new treadmill stress test, which she passed as well. I'm so worried because I know that high calcium scores correlate strongly with cardiac events but her doctor doesn't seem to want to do anything since she passed a stress test. He MAY put her on a statin. It's a very gray area. I know angiograms are invasive but both she and I might be able to get some sleep if we knew exactly what her blockages looked like and how much soft plaque was in her arteries. Should I seek out a second opinion? I don't know if any cardiologist will perform an angiogram without a failed stress test. But look what happened to Tim Russert (death from heart attack) and Bill Clinton (bypass surgery) after their normal stress tests. Can't sleep and extremely worried. Please advise if any have been through similar situations. Thanks!

billh99 responded:
Typically a blockage does not affect performance that would show on a stress test until it reaches 70-80%.

However, typically it is unstable plaque in the range of 20-40% that can rupture. When that happens the body treats it as a wound and forms a clot. And thus cause a heart attack.

But an angiogram won't show those small blockages.

He MAY put her on a statin

With the family history and her high score I am surprised that he has not already done that. One of the "side effects" of statins is to help stabilize plaque.

She might want to look for a cardiologist that specialized in prevention.

Also there is a test called CT angiogram. In that a contrast material is injected and then a CT is run. It suppository has a good record of showing blockages.

cardiostarusa1 responded:
Hi: