Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Newly diagnosed? See our Hepatitis Health Center to learn more about it.

Incivek Treatment
sharinghope11 posted:
I'm new to chatting online, but I would like to know if anyone is on the triple treatment. I am due to start mine in 2 weeks. I know treatment can affect everyone differently but I would like to hear from anyone on it. thanks
FirstPrevious12NextLast

goodlittlegirl responded:
Hope, I'm surprised you have zero replies thus far. I am in week five right now, which I understand is kind of a plateau for tiredness and other side effects.

I see my MD (P.A.) at Univ. Fla. on Thurs., but already she has emailed me that my viral load is undetectable!! I know this is great news; however, although not everyone is undetectable after one month, so I feel lucky. But.....I must remain undetectable for the next two months on the Telaprevir, then for the remaining eight months on interferon and Ribavirin. If you were a nonresponder in the past, most likely you will be on treatment for 11 months, rather than the six months that newly-diagnosed patients are doing. I don't know why 11 months seems to be the magic number; why not 12 months? Or 9 months? But the trials and experience these teaching hospitals have been doing over the last couple of years have shown these results, so I go with that.

I do find that I lack patience with little things while on this regimen. Some days I am breathless and more tired, while other days I feel nearly back to normal, so it really is coming along well and I will go the duration. I am lucky to feel hungry, even though some things don't taste the same (Diet Coke isn't quite as yummy, but it isn't the best hydrator, either, so water is your best bet).........and lots of it.