Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Question about Oraquick.
concernedguy92 posted:
Alright, so here's the deal. January 18th of this year (2013) I had unprotected sex. I am a gay male, and I'm a bottom so when he ejaculated, it was inside of me. The person I had sex with was someone I used to have sex with back when I was a sophomore in high school (2008-2009) so it's been a good 4 years since we've messed around. Of course I've been tested since high school so when we were having sex back then he obviously didn't have anything but since its been 4 years since then you never know what could happen. He says he has no STD's or HIV. I don't doubt him but unprotected sex scares me and that encounter was really just a spur of the moment thing. It also makes me feel bad because he's married. But he says the only person he sleeps with is his wife (aside from me) & any other sexual encounter is strictly oral (him receiving blow jobs). So it makes me wonder if he's telling the truth or just lying.

So, on March 4th I took a Oraquick in home HIV test which was 6 weeks 3 days post exposure. It says I'm negative. Is 6 weeks a good indicator of my status? I do plan to test again on the 3 month mark (April 18th) just to know for sure. But is my 6 week 3 day result a good indicator? I'm just terrified that I can have a negative result now then at the full 12 weeks/3 month mark come out positive.

Thanks for any advice!

georgiagail responded:
The six week test is an excellent indication of your negative status and there is no reason to assume the 12 week follow up test will be any different.