Skip to content
Can tonsilitis/pharyngitis delay the production of HIV antibodies?
itsmegeorge posted:
Hi.
I took a 4th gen test at 57 days and it came out negative. After much research on the internet I read that the UK stated that any test results after 47 days can be considered conclusive but places like the US only consider a 3 month test conclusive. My question is probably rather stupid. I've been fighting a case of tonsilitis/pharyngitis for 2 months now and I've been on antibiotics for it those 2 months too. Could this illness have affected in anyway the antibody production process, should there have been any, thus me getting false results? How about the symptoms? If I had REAL ones, would my results have been positive?
I have never engaged in unprotected anal or vaginal intercourse. The only unprotected sex I've had was give oral 2 months ago and I am worrying about this because I think my tooth started going bad back then. There was no ejaculation in my mouth, only a bit of precum which I immediately swallowed.

My doctor says that since I tested after 8 weeks and 2 days I'm vastly outside the window period and I do not need any further testing but I do not know what to believe, I have read so many things.

georgiagail responded:
Listen to what your physician has told you.

Oral sex in itself carries an EXTREMELY low risk of HIV transmission. Think along the lines of .5 to 1 per 10,000 exposures with a source KNOWN to carry the virus (and that's assuming the act was carried to completion).

HIV is a virus. The fact you were on antibiotics (which is used to treat bacterial infections) would have no effect on your immune system producing antibodies to the virus IF you were infected with HIV.

Gail

itsmegeorge replied to georgiagail's response:
Hi. Thanks for the reply. I am trying to.
Thing is the pharyngitis I'm having is streptococcal. Does this change anything?

Thanks,
George

georgiagail replied to itsmegeorge's response:
George...