Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Freaking out
dazedandconfused101 posted:
Hi Gail,

I am a college student and throughout the course of last year, I had unprotected vaginal sex with 4 men. The last guy I had sex with was in March (4 months ago). About a week ago, my neck became a bit swollen and my throat a bit itchy. I also haven't really had a appetite as of late. I recently got prescribed Anxiety meds because I drive myself crazy thinking I have all these different diseases, but I don't know what else could be the cause of my swollen neck and loss of appetite.

I took 2 at home OraQuick tests and they both came out negative, but I am still experiencing these symptoms so I'm not sure how accurate they could be. I also contacted the 4 men and they all said that they felt fine and have been tested since we had intercourse and were negative, but idk, they could be lying???

Any tips you could give to help me out?

Thanks so much

georgiagail responded:
The recommended time period for testing is 3 months after a potential encounter.

I'm going to assume your two OraQuick tests took place after this time period, correct?

If so, they are both accurate results in terms of your HIV status.

Your swollen neck and itchy throat has nothing to do with HIV. ARS, the first stage of HIV occurs two to six weeks after transmission, not four months later. You could simply be coming down with a summer cold or a whole host of other things but HIV ain't one of them.

Gail

dazedandconfused101 replied to georgiagail's response:
Yes it has been about 4 months since a potential encounter, and both tests came out negative.

I'm also nervous about my stomach, I used to have a hearty appetite and now I don't even find myself hungry and have to force myself to eat. This could be because of my anxiety, I guess.

There is no way symptoms can come about 4 months after possible exposure? I don't really ever get sick and I've had this small swelling for about a week.....