Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Pressures not falling in the less than 120/80 range? See our High Blood Pressure Health Center for information about symptoms and treatment.

To learn more about how lifestyle changes can help manage and prevent symptoms:

Exercise and High Blood Pressure
Healthy Diet - Salt Shockers and Dash Diet

Healthy Lifestyle with High Wild Blood Pressure
zakeya posted:
Among other things, I am a fitness instructor who does a balanced, invigorating program of cardio, weight training, stretching/meditation/relaxation, and skilled physical performance. I eat whole grains, fresh fruits and veggies, fish, no-fat milk products, chicken only once a week, nuts, legumes, and lots of water. I never put salt or sugar in my food and I am now reading labels carefully to avoid canned and smoked fish, soups, and sauces but sodium is in everything. Nevertheless, I will make the sacrifices. I don't drink, smoke, or take drugs and I get plenty of rest. I have no angina, no pain, no shortness of breath, and can lift heavy and do cardio for hours without difficulty. Because I have a number of part-time jobs instead of one full time job, I can't afford health insurance. Although my resting heart rate averages in the fifties and occasionally goes to 100 when I exercise, my BP at rest is wild: one minute the Systolic is 124, then 138, then five minutes later 160, even as high as 170. The Diastolic used to be in the seventies but now it oscillates in the nineties sometimes climbing to 120. I checked my heart rate manually against the kit and it was correct, but I wonder if the home blood pressure kit is broken. How can I suddenly get this hypertension Stage One out of the blue? This wild fluctuation has been going on for several months now. Because of my low heart rate, I can't take beta blockers; because of my exercise career I don't want to take diuretics; and I am afraid of the long-term effects of ACE inhibitors on my fragile, somewhat h