Skip to content

Announcements

Pressures not falling in the less than 120/80 range? See our High Blood Pressure Health Center for information about symptoms and treatment.

To learn more about how lifestyle changes can help manage and prevent symptoms:

Exercise and High Blood Pressure
Healthy Diet - Salt Shockers and Dash Diet

Newbie here! Took first BP meds today!
cheryl141414 posted:
Hello everyone! Just finished reading the thread about quick rise in blood pressure. I found your stories to be very heartfelt, and I hope you have all found answers by now!

My story:
Went to donate blood Monday and was deferred because of a BP of 160/104! The Red Cross technician said I should see my doctor. Made an appt. yesterday for this afternoon. When they took my BP it was 210/115! HOLY COW!

Well, after an EKG and a chest X-ray, my heart is fine with just a small enlargement of the left side.

My doctor put me on 10 mg. of Lisinopril.

Anyone taking that?
Any bad side effects?

I have been under lots of stress lately, have LOTS of pain due to arthritis, and have been taking 3 liquigels of Ibuprophen about every four to six hours.

I was VERY shocked with my sudden rise in blood pressure over the last few days.

I also had buzzing in my ears and felt my heart beating kinda crazy in my chest but with no pain.

I feel better tonight but wondered if anybody had a similar start to YOUR BP experience.

I have a doctor's appt.for bloodwork and a physical in a few weeks.

Any questions I should ask when I go?

I am going to TRY to lose some weight by next month to see if that helps. I lost 80 pounds several years ago by walking UNTIL I pulled something. Arthritis set in BIGTIME a couple years ago while I cared for my mother in our home. She passed away a year ago at age 100. I gained back about 30 pounds and have a hard time exercising because EVERYTHING HURTS.

I hope to hear from you all and am happy to have found you!

Be well everyone!

billh99 responded: