Skip to content

Announcements

Pressures not falling in the less than 120/80 range? See our High Blood Pressure Health Center for information about symptoms and treatment.

To learn more about how lifestyle changes can help manage and prevent symptoms:

Exercise and High Blood Pressure
Healthy Diet - Salt Shockers and Dash Diet

High BP
An_258428 posted:
Hi,
I have been diagnosed with Hypertension recently. Being a newbie I am little worried about how to manage it, take medications regularly, go to walk regularly etc etc. The doctor has strongly asked me to make significant changes in my lifestyle and asked me to go on DASH eating plan. I am not used taking medications daily.
So I was searching the internet to find out an app that can help me manage this chronic beast. I found one app on Android called "Jivayu" that claims to help me manage my hypertension. It says that it can remind me of medications daily and it can remind me to be active. It also claims that it can provide me a report that I can take to the doctor on the next visit which will have charts for BP, activity and sleep in a single page.
Has anybody used this app? I am looking for some advice on ways to manage Hypertension.

billh99 responded:
Studies that shown that taking at least one of your BP meds at night gives better control.

But you don't want to take a diuretic at night unless you like getting up at night to go.

Pick a time(s) (at bedtime, at breakfast, etc) and keep your meds at that location.

As far as diet, the main thing is to mostly east unprocessed foods. Basically anything WITHOUT ingredients that you can't pronounce it's name.

Watch the saturated fats, salt/sodium, added sugars, and products with white flour.

But you want to eat foods with healthy fats (mono and poly-unsaturated). Nuts, fatty fish, avocados, olive oil.

I have not used that app, but looking at the description it looks like it might help.

kjme11374 replied to billh99's response: