Skip to content

Announcements

Pressures not falling in the less than 120/80 range? See our High Blood Pressure Health Center for information about symptoms and treatment.

To learn more about how lifestyle changes can help manage and prevent symptoms:

Exercise and High Blood Pressure
Healthy Diet - Salt Shockers and Dash Diet

spiked blood pressure and heart rate at the gym
frankie2110 posted:
Hi all I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I've been doing some walking and healthy diet for the last three months. I've dropped about 35 lbs. While at the gym on Thursday I had a spike of heart rate which read 190 don't know how accurate. Now I don't know if it was caused from working out too hard with weights and cardio, but when I saw 5 he number of the heart rate and got very light headed I freaked out and managed to make it to the trainers room. Thought I was having a heart attack. I suffer from extreme anxiety. They called an ambulance and my BP spiked to 210/120. However in the ambulance after calming down it was 159/97 and later dropped more. Did a bunch of tests at the er and everything was normal. I guess my question is can this be normal from a strenuous workout combined with little sleep, anxiety and the fact I didn't eat for 6 hours before working out? The er doctor told me I could go home but I've felt weak the last few days. BP and heart rate have been normal.

billh99 responded:
There is a number of things that could be causing that. It might be caused by aniety. But it can also be a caused by irregular heart rate.

The ER is only good at treating what is seen at that instant. But not good at finding transient problems.

If you have a PCP make an appointment with him. If not see a cardiologist.

frankie2110 replied to billh99's response: