Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Pressures not falling in the less than 120/80 range? See our High Blood Pressure Health Center for information about symptoms and treatment.

To learn more about how lifestyle changes can help manage and prevent symptoms:

Exercise and High Blood Pressure
Healthy Diet - Salt Shockers and Dash Diet

when does one seek emergency medical attention for blood pressure reading 162/115
An_192035 posted:
hi, im wondering when does one seek medical attention for blood pressure reading 162/115.. along with this is headache and feeling kind of woozy as in lightheaded. on metaprolol tartrate 100mg twice daily and lisinopril 20/12.5..

TNogram responded:
I'm no Doctor but in my opinion, immediately. That kind of reading along with the headache and being light headed could be the onset of a stroke. Go find out but have someone drive you. Don't drive yourself.

Amelia_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Anon_47052,

I think that it would be wise to consult your doctor if this reading continues. Here is a link to a WebMD overview on high blood pressure that will help explain when your blood pressure is critical for immediate professional attention.

UNDERSTANDING HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE - THE BASICS
http://www.webmd.com/hypertension-high-blood-pressure/guide/understanding-high-blood-pressure-basics

According to the WebMD article, "People with blood pressure readings of 200/120 or higher need treatment immediately. People with diabetes are treated if their blood pressure rises above 130/80, since they already have a high risk of heart disease."

I hope that this information helps you and that your readings are lowered now! Best of luck and always call your physician if you have any doubts. :)
Best Wishes! Amelia

Helpful Tips

garlic oil
I've started taking 2 "garlic oil perles" along with my regular meds (metoperol, lisinopril. nefedipine) and my pressure has dropped 25 ... More
Was this Helpful?
23 of 33 found this helpful