Skip to content
IBS Newbie
Lexlacey posted:
I am new to this discussion board, but hope I can get some information and maybe advice. Amid a ton of stress in the past 6 months (my brother passed away of lung cancer and I quit smoking after 40 years (4 months ago) etc.) I find myself with some major intestinal problems. I have been to my doctor (for what it was worth) and she says I have IBS. I'm not sure I trust her, but Ok. I have a ton of gas problems, and I mean to the point of embarrassment, cramping, abdominal pain, major diaherra, some constipation, and a whole lot of noisy growling going on constantly. Does get a lot worse after eating. I haven't been given any meds or advice on what to eat and what to avoid, or anything that would seem to be of practial help. Any advice, comments, or information?

sheba_q responded:
You've said that you've seen your doctor, but not that you've been through a ton of tests to figure out what's going on. If you haven't then the doctor shouldn't be saying IBS, as it's a diagnosis of exclusion - when they've run more tests on you than you ever imagined could exist and still nothing can be found, then you have IBS.

I suspect (and it sounds like you do too) that something else is going on. For starters you've been through "a ton of stress" and that's going to take it's toll on you. Quitting smoking during this is also going to mess with your body. I see a recipe for disaster.

First thing to do is try to limit what you're eating to simple, whole foods. Then start a food diary where you right down *everything* you consume (food, drink, gum, meds, vitamins, etc) and any symptoms you have during the day. Do this for a few weeks and then look back over it to see if you can spot any trigger foods. This is much easier to do when it's all in writing.