Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
IBS Getting Worse With Time HELP!
farfaraway24 posted:
Hello, I am new to this whole support group thing so please bear with me. I am a 23 year old female who has been dealing with IBS since I was 17. After doctors visits to 7 different primary care providers, as well as a GI, countless blood tests and a colonoscopy at 18, I was doomed with the news that I have IBS the diarrhea type, one of those things out there without a cure. One would think that after having dealt with IBS for the past 7 years things would have gotten better, well they've only gotten worse. I'm at that point when I'm just so sick of dealing with IBS and all its' crap (sorry I couldn't help myself). I was barely able to finish my associates degree in college because at times my IBS symptoms would get so bad I had to leave campus in the middle of the day, thank god for online classes. I am now hoping to proceed with attaining my goal of receiving my bachelor's degree but even just the thought of stepping foot back on a campus makes my belly rumble with anxiety. I work full time in a company where I really enjoy most of the people I work with and most importantly I really like my position. The only problem is attendance. I've had to miss work numerous times because of the onset of my diarrhea symptoms or leave early. One such instance occurred this Friday, I had to leave work one hour early because I just would not take spending more time in the ladies room than working at my desk, its extremely embarrassing to have to keep sprinting into the ladies room, heels and all. Well my supervisor did not seem too pleased that I had to leave early although she is aware of my condition and for any work time I've missed I have provided her with doctors notes. At this point I'm afraid that I will be let go because of attendance issues although I work harder than most people at the company and not only fulfill all of my job duties but help out with anyone else's as well