Skip to content
Incontinence due to MS
Lisasnyc posted:
I have MS and one of the symptoms is incontinence. I thought I had accepted this fact- about 85 of people with MS are incontinent.

I use underwear-diapers as I jokingly call them. But I work in retail so I am on my feet all day. Today, I had a leak that somehow trickled down my leg and left a couple of spots on the carpet .The spots weren't very big but of course urine has an odor. I mopped up the urine as best I could, vacuumed with Carpet Fresh and sprayed down deodorizer. Then I went to the rest room and cleaned myself up. ( I keep extra Depends on me.)

Everyone I work with knows about the MS, but only the managers know about my incontinence issues. The manager on duty was very kind , but I was so embarrassed that I left for the day and took some sick time.

What can I do? Does anyone have any suggestions ? This is the 2nd time I've had an incontinence issue at work. Are there biker short diapers so I'd have more protection? LOL Any suggestion would be helpful.

Thanks everyone, Lisa
P.S. I try to empty my bladder several times a day without the sudden urge that usually comes before.

Lisasnyc replied to evelyngilbert's response:
Thanks Evelyn;

I do take meds for the MS and my neuro told me its up to me if I want meds for the incontinence. Is there anything our members would recommend?

Luckily, no issue since the last post.

tracyq replied to Lisasnyc's response:
Hi! I have both types of urinary incontinence - troubles voiding and no warning to get to the bathroom. I found this site for supplies because the involuntary voiding overnight can be out of control.

http://www.caregiverpartnership.com/