Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
trying to come to an agreement
spitfiretink posted:
Here's my situation: We are recently married, but I have always wanted children. We finally sat down and had a serious, heart-to-heart conversation about having kids. He said that no one is ever truly "ready" for baby and that he would prefer to not plan it and if it happens, he will be extremely happy, rather than trying and trying and may be disappointed. I agree with him to an extent. I have had a miscarriage in my past, so up until i actually miscarried, i had prepared myself mentally and emotionally for having a child. That feeling has not gone away.

so here's the conclusion: I just started a new month of birth control (pill), so we agreed that i will finish this pack, and then will decided whether to refill my prescription or go off of birth control. I am in my last semester of college, so if it happens, it won't put a damper on school. We own a house, and we both are financially stable.

but here's the problem: He would rather just wing it and if it happens, it happens. I, on the other hand, have baby on the brain BIG TIME now!!! lol

QUESTION: Would it be a good idea or bad idea to plan out our sex around when i'm fertile/ovulating with hopes of conceiving? I don't want to feel guilty for in my own way "planning" to get pregnant. But i am not sure I want to discuss TTC details with him (fertile days, planning sex around those days, etc.) for fear of him freaking out and changing his mind about "winging it"

DUKE MEDICINE
David K Walmer, MD, PhD responded: