Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Have you had a kidney transplant or are waiting for one? Then visit the Organ Transplant Community and the Diabetes and Kidney Community to share your experiences with other community members!

Are you newly diagnosed? Use the WebMD search engine to read articles like Understanding Kidney Disease.
93-year-old Mom with Stage 4
otterhere2 posted:
Hi, all. My beloved mom, whom I've been caring for for the past three years, has multiple health problems and also has, since April, had a JPEG (feeding) tube, as she wasn't taking in sufficient food or fluid by mouth to prevent dehydration and maintain nutritional health. She's had chronic kidney failure for many years, including one episode of acute kidney failure which responded to treatment, going back to baseline. At that time, she was in the hospital for acute heart failure, which also responded to treatment, and we consulted with the local nephrologist (we have only one in our small town), who told me bluntly that "we don't perform dialysis on anyone over 90." She's now at the point where she's very symptomatic, with GFR around 22, and not feeling well most of the time. I would be open to peritoneal dialysis (I already manage her PEG tube at home), but am worried that the doctor won't agree to even that given her age and other health issues. I'm not in favor of just sitting by and watching her die of renal failure! Anyone have an input/experience with this? I know it's relatively rare in this country vs. hemodialysis, but I agree that would be too awful, and it would also be nearly impossible to get her to a center and back. I certainly hope my mom won't be deprived treatment due to age discrimination! She's currently very itchy all the time, sleeping a lot more, very irritable and agitated when awake, and having headaches.

john-skpt responded: