Skip to content
Post op Depression
An_245183 posted:
I had both knees replaced almost 8 weeks ago (3/12/12). While in the hospital and rehab (12 days), I had so much praise about how well I was doing and even told that I was the "Poster Child" for TKR. Once I got home and the attention and visitors diminished-after about 4 weeks, I got depressed-not constantly but intermittenly-until this week, now it's everyday. I go to PT once a week and I'm told I'm not making any progress, which doesn't help and for the most part I do the exercises at home unless I'm too depressed. I'd love to go toPT every day or at least 2x/week but the facility I go to is too busy and can't accomodate any more visits. I know it's common to have post op depression. I wonder if I'm either babying myself or expecting too much. I do go out at least once a day for my mental health and even work. I'm a realtor in San Francisco so you can imagine what it's like with stairs but I do limit much of the work to phone and computer work.Luckily I have a partner but I do need to see people now and then and minimize the surgery as "I've had knee surgery" since I don't want to lose business by having people think I'm not capable of helping them. I need to work, don't have workmans comp and have a huge deductable to pay for this surgery. So I'm not just isolating myself but hold back tears that seem to come unexpectedly when I'm in the public. Has anyone started on antidepressants temporarily to get through the recovery period and has it helped? Thanks! Any comments are appreciated.

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hello,

I hope that others who have been through this will be responding soon but, in the meantime, I wanted to welcome you here.

It sounds like you're continuing to do as much as you can for yourself despite the depression but now may be a good time to discuss this aspect with your doctor.
We never touch people so lightly that we do not leave a trace. ~Peggy Tabor Millin