Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Should I have both knees replaced at the same time?
dluecke posted:
I am having trouble trying to decide if I want to have both knees replaced at the same time, or do the worst knee and then 6 weeks later have the other replaced. I am a teacher and am on my feet constantly throughout the day. I am concerned about the recovery and the time away from work. Any opinions would be welcomed...both at the same time or one then the other? Thanks

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Dluecke,

While you're waiting for responses here, click on the following for four pages of shared experiences from some of our members:

Recovery from Bilateral Knee Replacement
We never touch people so lightly that we do not leave a trace. ~Peggy Tabor Millin

alcakcw responded:
I had mine both done at the same time...the recovery was faster and I was able to walk without a walker or cane within 6 weeks. maybe even sooner. The best thing I didn't have to go back for a second surgery, just one and all was well and haven't had a problem with them at all.

oren4444 responded:
I am also a teacher and in the same dilemma - I don't need a total replacement but do need both knees doing -do let me know the answers you get and good luck

janetsg responded: