Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
knee cap grinding/scraping after surgery?
Gma_Nasha posted:
I had my tkr surg. on June 14th this year. /things seemed to be going on ok for me, but about 3 weeks ago I noticed my knee popping. I seems to be getting worse. Each time I bend my knee then straighten it back out it scrapes. I asked my surgeon about it and he says give it time. It could take a year to fully heal. Guess I should add I am 65 yr old and not in the best health. With the knee joint creaking each time I straighten it out it gets sore! Anyone else experienced this? This is my first time to post and I did want to check other jposts first, but couldn't figure out how. I welcome any questions and constructive criticisms. thanks and God Bless!

arbob5 responded:
I don't recall the experience you're going through when I had my knee replaced. But it does take quite awhile for a full recovery, not only at the point of the surgery, but your body has gone through major surgery, and it can take a toll on your entire body. I think most people do not realize that. For instance....I had my right hip replaced on 7/16/2012, it went wonderfully, in hospital for 3 days, 2 weeks intensive in home therapy, and I was no on any pain meds after the first day in the hospital, and then only Tylenol. But, I have ulcerative colitis, which was in remission before the surgery. About a week after I got home, my UC started to flare unbelievably, and up until about 2 weeks ago, I had diarrhea and felt it was just the UC! After a talk with my ortho surgeon and my gastro doctor, they were convinced it was my body reacting to the major surgery I had. I am now back to "normal", that is, UC is under control again. So I think we really have to consider the shock our entire body goes through after major surgery.