Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
7 weeks post op bil knee replacement-unable to sleep
kcsandip posted:
Hi. I just hit my 7 week mark, and am so frustrated . I can not sleep. I am a side sleeper, and cannot tolerate any pressure on the sides of my knees. I am and never have been able to sleep on my back. I wonder if this is a problem anyone else has had and does it go away?

I feel my progress is going well. I am at 0 bil with extension. For flexion ,my right knee is 124 and my left is 126. I rarely take a Tramadol, and take Aleve 2 times daily.

Besides for sleeping, my other problem seems to be that I cry a lot. I have no appetite..and have lost 13 # since being home. I know I need to get out of the house more..but due to our horrible winter weather...I still have home PT. ( starting output next week). I am a nurse, and a people person. I still have 5 weeks before I am to return to work 1/2 days. I got out this weekend both days..but hurt today..so back to ice packs and my recliner:(

Any advice from other who have been here would be greatly appreciated! ESP on how to get thru the emotional part of this.

Thanks!

Bal M Rajagopalan, MD responded:
Be patient once you get more range this symtom should settle
DR RAJ MD,FRCSC
www.drhipandknee.com

dogwatcher1 responded: