Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
total reverse shoulder replacement
bectech posted:
I recently had a fall tearing my rotator cuff after surgery and therapy it was determine to proceed with a total reverse, because the rotator cuff was tore again. I have been working for three months now and my shoulder is very sore and limited movement reaching up and no movement behind me. I was just wondering if anyone could tell me why or what to do I am still in therapy with little results and I guess I would be much further by now and now they say this may be all I get back, what do I do with limited movement. My surgeon keeps telling me that everything is fine and I should be ready to go back to work. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. :

GrdnGolfnGal responded:
I had rotator cuff/labrum tear/debridement/bursectomy surgery on Nov25th. Also, a pin was attached to anchor the rotator muscle. and tendon. I just started PT for 6 weeks and the pain is horrible. I'm still on narcotics and I cannot sleep at night. My ROM is good for only 6 weeks post op but the pain is deep, aching and radiates down my bicepts and upper arm. The doctor told me that pain after shoulder surgery can last for up to 3 months. I was also told that even w/ therapy it can take up to 6 months to heal and be back to "normal".

I also had a THR in 2006 but the limited motion after the shoulder surgery is much worse than the hip replacement. I cannot put my arm behind me, either. My surgeon also said due to my grade IV arthritis, I may need a shoulder replacement in the future.

I would definately get a second opinion and give therapy a longer time...perhaps another MRI is in order to make sure nothing else is going on, if the Xrays appear normal along w/ blood work.

Best wishes...I totally sympathize. I am an active gardener and golfer and don't want to lose these activities. Hope others that have had shoulder repair will add their results to this post.

_swank_ responded: