Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Avasculaar Necrosis
An_206390 posted:
Has anyone been diagnosed with avascular necrosis of the hip due the use of steroids?

lupylisa44 responded:
I have no knowledge of this topic, but I know there are a couple of members that have dealt with it. Hoepfully they will see your post and help you out.

Lupylisa

Patientofmanydiagnosis responded:
Hello
I haven't been on here as much as I used to due to a lot of physical health issues I've been dealing with plus frankly I never liked the changes they made to this web site. It's too blinding to be on here for long now. Lisa told me via face book about your post. I just recently got diagnosed with avascular necrosis in my knee area. I been on medrol steroids a lot this year & each time unable to completely wean off. Well July I was put in the hospital due to DVT in left arm because my PICC line got infected & the blood clot. I was complaining of pain also in my left leg & they first thought it was just the infection than after finally doing a MRI they realized it was the dead bone in my knee. So far I've been told it's not bad to the point I will need a replacement & they finally had taken me off the steroids at that time but my labs are still so awful this last week they said I have to go back on steroids so I have to be closely monitored to make sure it doesn't damage more or kill more bone. Let me know if you have any other questions but so far that is my experience. You can also check out my web site I blog & update everyone on @ www.ezrasarticles.com

Staying Strong,
Ezra

lupylisa44 replied to Patientofmanydiagnosis's response:
Thanks Ezra for taking the time to reply!!!

Lupylisa

Istillbannie responded:
I have AVN of the hips, knees (one knee replaced in my 30s) and in my spine all due to being on steroids for 30 straight years. If you have any question I will do my best to help you. Take care, Annie

lupylisa44 replied to Istillbannie's response: