Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
cold sores inside your mouth (oral ulcers)
llama33 posted:
Hi Guys -
it's my first time on this forum or any lupus forum, so i'm really excited to get your advice. I get oral ulcers in my mouth and throat every time whenever i get even the smallest flare. Do any of you get them and if so have you found anything that works?
Thanks!!!

redwingfan2010 responded:
I get them on the sides of my tongue (painful little buggers). I always just dealt with them until they went away (most would last just a couple days).

About 2 1/2 months ago, my Rheum added Quinacrine (antimalarial) to the Plaquenil I was already taking. In those 10 weeks, I've only had 2 mouth sores (1 was food related- ate something acidic and it bothered me). But both mouth sores lasted just a few hours, then disappeared.

I have heard of others who use a liquid med that you swish around in your mouth - supposed to help heal the lesions plus make you more comfortable. I've never tried it, but others say it helps.

Has your doc ever given anything for them? If not, I'd discuss it with him/her.

llama33 replied to redwingfan2010's response:
Thank you so much for responding, i have 6 in my mouth right now and i'm so uncomfortable.

i'm so grateful for your help, i pretend nothing is wrong to everyone but it hurts just to talk.

I am going to ask my Rheum about Quinacrine.

You're so lucky you got yours to go away, I hate them!!

redwingfan2010 replied to llama33's response:
6 would be torture... I only got them one or two at a time - they looked like little blisters.

My suggestion would be for you to call your Rheum (or your internist), tell him/her about the mouth sores and see if they can phone in a prescription for a med to help get rid of those now... then discuss other options at your next visit.

There's no need to suffer... your docs can help you, but you have to let them know there's a problem.

Good luck and keep us posted!

jessi19661 responded: